Encinitas-based foundation grants more than $20K in scholarships

North Coast Current

The Encinitas nonprofit group Coastal Community Foundation recently gave more than $20,000 in scholarships — from medicine and arts to technology and sports — to North County high school graduates, the organization announced June 15.

The scholarships, named in honor of educators, community activists and students, were given through the foundation, according to a news release.

La Costa Canyon High School graduate Todd Chappuis received the Jay Penacho scholarship, which offers an opportunity to attend intensive training at a summer wrestling camp. The scholarship is named in memory of champion San Dieguito High School wrestler Jay Penacho.

Two students from Sunset High School, Stephen Lovette and Kirra Sarquilla, received the Roy Risner scholarship, named for the former Sunset principal who retired in 2005.

Scholarships from the Bill Berrier education scholarship fund — named for the former longtime San Dieguito Union High School District superintendent — went to Emily Ross, San Dieguito Academy; Jennifer Cady, La Costa Canyon High School; Joleen Hsu, Torrey Pines High School; and Jenna Golden, Canyon Crest Academy.

San Dieguito Academy graduate Alynee Powers received the Deanna Rich Trustee Award scholarship, named for former longtime San Dieguito high school district trustee Dee Rich. Torrey Pines graduate Rigo Mejia received the Steve G. Ma Scholarship, which is given to students who are first- or second-generation graduating seniors.

Canyon Crest Academy students Emily Lailotis and Stephen Ai received scholarships from the Eric Scott Langdon and Diana Monzeglio Memorial Scholarship Fund for Artists. The fund is named in memory of two students.

The Eric Hall scholarship — named for the former San Dieguito district associate superintendent who now runs Eric Hall & Associates — went to El Camino High School graduate Sergio Ochoa Farias. The scholarship is geared toward students planning to study architecture, construction, public administration or public finance.

Daniela Carreon of La Costa Canyon High School and Sarah Bhattacharjee of Torrey Pines High School received the Jackie Harrigan Haase Memorial Scholarship Fund award, named for Hasse, who worked was a nurse in health services and special education in the San Dieguito Union High School District. Students who plan to study nursing, psychology or special education are eligible for the scholarship.

Joe W. Chavez Educational Fund awards for medicine and government — named in honor of Chavez, who worked to improve the living conditions for the Eastside community of Oceanside in the late 1940s.— went to Cassidy Mayeda, San Dieguito Academy; DoWon Kim, Torrey Pines High School; Catherine Wu and Davina Moossazadeh, Canyon Crest Academy; Henry Gardner, Carlsbad High School; Laura Leon, Oceanside High School; and Katrina Diaz, Ocean Shores High School.

More information: (760) 942-9245 or [email protected]. Online: www.coastalfoundation.org.