Blakespear holds wide lead for Encinitas mayor; Measure U out; Hubbard, Mosca council bound

Victory in sight for Horvath in Assembly race; incumbents lead in school district races


Election Day. (Photo by Element5 Digital, Unsplash)

North Coast Current

Encinitas Mayor Catherine Blakespear appears to hold a sound victory to retain her seat as Jody Hubbard and Joe Mosca are headed for the City Council, according to the San Diego County Registrar of Voters, with 100 percent of precincts reporting as of midday Nov. 7.

Measure U, the Encinitas proposition to update the city’s housing element, is on the way to defeat, according to the unofficial results. If the measure officially fails, it would be the second such proposition to do so in Encinitas. In 2016, Measure T, which called for similar updates in an effort to align the city’s housing policy with state mandates, was rejected by a slightly wider margin.

Blakespear’s likely victory comes in light of a significant berth in votes between her and candidate John Paul Elliott, the unofficial results show.

In Encinitas’ first district-based City Council elections, Jody Hubbard appears on the way to unseating incumbent Mark Muir by about 6 percent in District 3, which includes Cardiff-by-the-Sea. In District 4, which includes Olivenhain, appointed incumbent Joe Mosca leads longtime resident and retired judge Tony Brandenburg by about 2 percent.

Encinitas Councilwoman Tasha Boerner Horvath is on a path to victory in the 76th Assembly District against fellow Democrat Elizabeth Warren.

The San Dieguito Union High School District board also held by-region elections for the first time, where incumbent Trustee Maureen “Mo” Muir, the wife of Encinitas Councilman Mark Muir, appeared headed to victory. Incumbents also were headed toward victories for three seats on the Encinitas Union School District board.

There are about 490,000 ballots remaining to be processed countywide, the registrar reported.

Below are the final unofficial reports for Encinitas and related local races, with (*) marking the winners:

Encinitas mayor
Catherine Blakespear: 82.88 percent  (*)
John Paul Elliott: 16.21 percent

Encinitas City Council District 3
Jody Hubbard: 52.96 percent (*)
Mark Muir: 46.83 percent

Encinitas City Council District 4
Joe Mosca: 50.89 percent (*)
Tony Brandenburg: 48.76 percent

Encinitas Measure U
No: 52.91 percent (*)
Yes: 47.09 percent

76th Assembly District
Tasha Boerner Horvath, Democrat: 55.48 percent (*)
Elizabeth Warren, Democrat: 44.52 percent

San Dieguito Union High School District Board of Trustees
Area 1

Maureen “Mo” Muir: 52.08 percent (*)
Amy Flicker: 47.70 percent

San Dieguito Union High School District Board of Trustees
Area 3

Melisse Mossy: 52.10 percent (*)
Rhea Stewart: 47.69 percent

San Dieguito Union High School District Board of Trustees
Area 5

Kristin Gibson: 42.55 percent (*)
Cheryl James-Ward: 36.79 percent
Lea Wolf: 20.45 percent

Encinitas Union School District Board of Trustees
Marla Strich: 25.75 percent (*)
Emily Andrade: 24.53 percent (*)
Gregg Sonken: 21.46 percent (*)
Christian Adams: 14.41 percent
Amy Glancy: 13.63 percent

MiraCosta Community College District Board of Trustees
Area 2

Rick Cassar: 75.49 percent
Harold Fairman IV: 24.22 percent

MiraCosta Community College District Board of Trustees
Area 7

William Fischer: 56.95 percent
Steve Hasty: 42.66 percent

Full results for all regional and state races can be found at