San Dieguito Academy student 1 of 10 district Presidential Scholar candidates


A faculty member walks across the courtyard of San Dieguito High School Academy’s math and science building Aug. 31, 2017. (Photo by Jen Acosta)

North Coast Current

A San Dieguito High School Academy senior is among 10 San Dieguito district students named as candidates for the 2022 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, the district announced Jan. 27.

The students are among more than 5,000 high school seniors nationwide to receive the distinction. The candidates were chosen from nearly 3.6 million applicants expected to graduate high school this year.

Students are accepted into the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program based on academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, character, and involvement in community and school activities. The program was created in 1964.

San Dieguito Union High School District students selected as candidates are Jonah Pawlak of San Dieguito High School Academy in Encinitas; Megan Peng and Annika Salz of Torrey Pines High School in Carmel Valley; and Ayush Agrawal, Audrey Chyung, Andrew Gao, Sonja Rodin, Arnav Vora, Daniel Wang and Yundi Xu of Canyon Crest Academy in Carmel Valley.

A panel of educators will review the submissions and select about 600 semifinalists in April. From there, the Commission on Presidential Scholars, made up of 32 panelists appointed by President Joe Biden, will select the finalists. The U.S. Department of Education will announce the official selection of scholars in May.

Most recently, Christina Wooden of Canyon Crest Academy progressed to official U.S. Presidential Scholar status in May 2020, according to the district.

encinitas current, cardiff current