Franklin ahead of Vargas in first open race for Vista mayor in 12 years


Election Day. (Photo by Element5 Digital, Unsplash)


OsideNewsJohn Franklin was ahead of Cipriano Vargas in the race for Vista mayor after voting closed Nov. 8.

As of an early Wednesday morning update of preliminary results, Franklin had 7,514 votes (54.33%) compared with 6,316 (45.67%) for Vargas. It’s the first time the mayor’s seat has been open without a running incumbent in 12 years after Mayor Judy Ritter opted not to run again.

In the District 4 City Council race, only four votes separated the candidates. Below are the early results for other Vista city-related races:

City Council District 1 (far north Vista; single candidate)
Corinna Contreras 1,442 (100%)

City Council District 4 (south Vista)
Dan O’Donnell 2,410 (50.08%)
Armen Kurdian 2,402 (49.92%)

Vista Irrigation District Board Division 3
Peter Kuchinsky II 1,853 (52.49%)
Richard Alvarez 1,677 (47.51%)

Full results for all regional and state races can be found at

OsideNews is an edition of the North Coast Current.